No, I’m still working on Baroness. I moved recently and half my stuff is in storage, so While I get my workshop straight and stuff moved in, I am working on a Prop for Alice: Madness Returns Video Game. It is based on American McGee’s Alice. For those not familiar, It’s basically a very dark gothic version of Alice in Wonderland. Alice is an Adult and is living in an Asylum. The books are very imaginative. I’ve been playing the new video game for the past few days and This costume is calling out to me. The dress itself is the easy part. But in order to take this costume to a different level I feel I need a Prop. a well made one at that. So I am undertaking a project of firsts. My first time building anything made of Styrofoam and fiberglass. Getting guidance from fellow costume and propmakers, I feel I have gathered the right materials and I am ready to go.

Reference pics are the most important here. they are difficult to find. I’ve had to go into the game constantly for reference. There are 5 weapons in the game. But I have decided on …The Hobby Horse Hammer. The upgrade in the game turns it into a unicorn. Hey,  Who doesn’t like Unicorns that kill people ? Now, getting horse heads right can be difficult.  As a painter, I’ve painted horses. They are not easy to render correctly. Getting the Shape of the head right can be difficult and always proposed a challenge.  But since this is a hobby horse, I have a lot more leway when it comes to proportion. This is otherwordly, it a toy gone wrong!

Here is some reference pics:

the Red One:

the one I am leaning toward is the unicorn.

Here is a Picture of the shape

These are the best Images I can find. You have to go into the game for a better 360 degree view.

Materials:

Polystyrene Foam Insulation Sheets (Blue ones from Lowes Made by Dow, Home Depot sells Pink, same stuff)

Drywall Knife for basic cutting

Coping saw

Hot Knife

Utility knife

Rasp

Various Grit Sandpapers

Parks Super Glaze (To seal Foam)

Bondo (Original and Bondo Glass)

Water Based Primer (Kilz)

Acrylic Paints

7-6 ft, Large diameter Wood Pole

Option: Battery Power Lighting for eyes, mouth and Unicorn horn) If I have time!

1 Chain, A fake one will cut down on weight but I may just use whatever I can find at the hardware store

