I’m sorry I have not updated. I’m having some health issues right now. And when I feel bad, I can’t work on much because I end up screwing it up.  That being said, I did cut out the bodice for the dress. It was not working at all. Being the body type that I am (Hourglass figure), my guess is most commercial patterns are just not made for me and my upper body structure. I did about 3 modifications and it still was not working , so I’m back to square one. After looking at several She-Ra photos (both costume and cartoon/Drawings), I’ve decided that her upper body area is definitely armor-like. This will solve some of my issues with getting the correct shape. As someone who has made many a corset over my lifetime, I can’t figure out why the pattern was not working until I realized that the measurements of the pattern were not the measurements listed on the back. They are off by about 1 1/2 inches! Just to be sure, I measured about 4 times to make sure I was not doing something wrong. I have only had this happen once before and that was a McCalls pattern years ago. I believe that one gave everyone problems on the Great Pattern Review. So I am using my creativity here and doing something totally different. I am taking the longline bra (with molded cups) and I am going to cover it like I would a belleydance bra. It’s a little trickier with a longline and I will still need to sew the seamed pieces together. But I really want that molded armor look. I will be making some armor pieces to run slanted across the breast and chest and then adhering the Gold Symbols onto that. That way I can remove them if I ever decide I need the bra for something else. I’m hoping this works. And I hope I feel better soon. I have too much to do before dragoncon.

Poison Ivy, I have decided may get shelved for the time being unless I can get everything else finished in time.

Today my Unitard for the Molotov Costume Came in. This one is actually not going to take too much time. I have the boots, red vinyl to cover all the Belting and to make the gun holster and knife holster. I ordered a red wig that I think is perfect . For those who don’t know who Molotov is, She is Molotov Cocktease (yes…I know..lol). She’s a character on the Venture Brothers cartoon on Adult Swim. I totally love that show and went back and caught a few I have missed while being under the weather.

Here’s a pic of the character:

She’s a cool character. A tease and you have to be pretty ballsy to wear an outfit like this. It’s why I’ve been doing my stomach crunches!. I definitely got the cleavage for it. The suit will be a bit of an engineering process. I have clear strapping made for bras that I will attach under the breast to keep any wardrobe malfunctioning from happening.  weaponry may be a problem, so I’m going to have to come up with something. I have 2 airsoft glock 17’s but I doubt they will let me into the Hyatt Hotel with them. I think I still have a fake knife leftover from Halloween but I would love to make a sword to go with this one!

So She-Ra is getting done. I’ll update in a few days and hopefully the dress will be done. I finished the skirt part and everything else is complete except the bodice, so I’m happy about that.

Jane